

## Government Gazette

OF

## WESTERN AUSTRALIA.

(Published by Authority at 2.30 p.m.)

[REGISTERED AT THE GENERAL POST OFFICE, PERTH, FOR TRANSMISSION BY POST AS A NEWSPAPER.]

No. 99.] PERTH: WEDNESDAY, 23rd NOVEMBER

[1955.

UNIVERSITY OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA ACT, 1911-1947.

Amendments to Statutes.

Premier's Department, Perth, 16th November, 1955.

HIS Excellency the Governor in Executive Council, acting under the provisions of the University of Western Australia Act, 1911-1947, has approved of Amending Statutes Nos. 1 and 2 of 1955 as respectively passed by the Senate and the Convocation of the University of Western Australia in accordance with the procedure prescribed in section 31 of the said Act, copies of which are set out hereunder.

R. H. DOIG, Under Secretary, Premier's Department.

Amending Statute No. 1 of 1955.

Amendment to Statute No. 8-The Faculties.

(1) Section 2 (1) is amended to read-

There shall be faculties of and degrees shall be granted after examination in Arts, Law, Education, Economics, Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Dental Science and such other faculties as the Senate may from time to time establish.

(2) Section 8 is amended to read-

The Faculty of Arts shall consist of the professors and lecturers in the departments of Classics and Ancient History, History, Mathematics, Modern Languages, Philosophy, Pschology and in such other departments as may from time to time be established within the Faculty, the Professor of Education or a full-time member of the teaching staff of the Faculty of Education as his deputy, the Dean of the Faculty of Economics and two other members of that Faculty nominated annually by it, the University Librarian, and such other persons as may from time to time be appointed by the Senate on the nomination of the foregoing and on the recommendation of the Professorial Board.

(3) A new Section 11 shall read-

The Faculty of Economics shall consist of the professor and lecturers in Economics, the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and two other members of that Faculty nominated annually by it, the Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture and such other persons as may from time to time be appointed by the Senate on the nomination of the foregoing and on the recommendation of the Professorial Board.

(4) Renumbering present sections 11 to 17.

Present sections 11 to 17 shall be renumbered 12 to 18 respectively.